Monday, September 12, 2016

Bryan Thao Worra elected SFPA President

The Science Fiction Poetry Association has announced that Lao American poet Bryan Thao Worra has been elected as the organization’s new president. Thao Worra will be the first Lao American to lead a speculative literature organization.

The Science Fiction Poetry Association connects international members interested in science fiction poetry, in addition poetry featuring fantasy horror and other imaginative elements in part or in whole. You can visit their website at

Each year, the SFPA publishes two journals, Star*Line and Eye to the Telescope, and oversees three major literary awards for poetry: The Rhyslings, the Dwarf Stars, and the Elgin Awards.

The association also conducts an annual science fiction poetry contest and other special events. The SFPA further provides resources for emerging and established poets seeking  publication at professional and semi-pro levels. There are presently six Science Fiction Poetry Grandmasters: Marge Simon (2015), Steve Sneyd (2015), Jane Yolen (2010), Ray Bradbury (2008), Robert Frazier (2005), and Bruce Boston (1999).

No comments:

Post a Comment