Wednesday, July 2, 2014

Upcoming Lao American Book: The Fighting Winds of Destiny

Our community can look forward to a debut book from Lao Minnesotan author Anita Nina Teso later this year: "The Fighting Winds of Destiny." Called an "Amazing Story about Tough Times and Inspirations. Based On A Real Life Story."

It is being published by Tate Publishing. More details will be forthcoming in the months ahead.

New Lao Minnesotan book: The Wolf and the Moon and Other Lao Folktales


Over at the Lao Assistance Center, executive director Sunny Chanthanouvong and cultural anthropologist David Zander worked together on a new book, "The Wolf and the Moon and other Lao Folktales." The layout, design and production by the students of the Design and Graphics Technologies Department of the Dunwoody College of Technology.

The collection was made possible by a story circle grant from the Bush Foundation, the Minnesota Humanities Center and support from the Lao Assistance Center. The suggested donation is $5 and delivery is currently only available in Minnesota.

 It's divided into four sections: Animal tales; Fairy tales, wisdom & magic; Wisdom stories; and Lao Buddhist principles for living. It also includes background notes on the Lao in Minnesota. Of particular note are folktales from Chanida Phaengdara Potter and her mother featured in the booklet.

2014 Magazine Markets for Lao Speculative Literature Writers



It's a fresh new fiscal year for various for-profit and non-profit magazines. Here's a beginning round-up of markets emerging and experienced writers of Lao science fiction, fantasy, and horror can consider submitting work to.

In comparison to previous years, 2014 appears to be a year of serious contraction in the field, with many publications closing down or at least, not taking new submissions for the time being. Others have been excluded in the current round-up because they don't really meet even the minimum standards for acceptable presentation of an author's work. This

As we point out every year: Some pay, some do not. Naturally, of those who do pay, some pay well, and others barely provide enough for a cup of cyber-coffee and bus ride home.

But the markets listed below are still currently or will be accepting writing in the future.  Some may be more receptive to stories that have overtly Lao or Southeast Asian American elements to them, but this is the sort of thing one finds out only by applying.

Remember, do your research and read a few issues ahead of time to get a feeling for whether or not your work would be a good fit with them. Don't send science fiction splatterpunk short stories to a journal that only accepts fantasy poetry, for example.

As always, caveat scriptor: Most have been vetted for reliability and good terms regarding their publishing rights and professionalism, but one should do their research on other writers experiences with them when you can. Most of these journals should provide interesting opportunities and good homes for many of your works.

Good luck!

  • 365 Tomorrows http://www.365tomorrows.com/ 

  • Allegory http://www.allegoryezine.com/   

  • Analog http://analogsf.com/0611/issue_11.shtml 

  • Andromeda Spaceways http://www.andromedaspaceways.com

  • AntipodeanSF http://www.antisf.com/  

  • Apex http://apex-magazine.com 

  • Aphelion http://www.aphelion-webzine.com/   

  • Asimov's http://www.asimovs.com/  

  • Aurealis http://aurealis.com.au/ 

  • Bewildering Stories http://www.bewilderingstories.com/  

  • Big Pulp http://www.bigpulp.com/   

  • Digital Dragon Magazine http://www.digitaldragonmagazine.com  

  • Expanded Horizons http://www.expandedhorizons.net 

  • Fabulist http://www.the-fabulist.org 

  • Fantasy and Science Fiction http://www.sfsite.com/fsf/   

  • Future Fire http://www.futurefire.net/   

  • Goblin Fruit http://www.goblinfruit.net 

  • Grantville Gazette http://www.grantvillegazette.com/   

  • Ideomacer http://www.ideomancer.com/   

  • Innsmouth Free Press http://www.innsmouthfreepress.com

  • Journal of Unlikely Entomology: http://unlikely-story.com/

  • Jupiter Science Fiction http://www.jupitersf.co.uk/  

  • Kaleidotrope http://www.kaleidotrope.net/  

  • Lakeside Circus: http://www.lakesidecircus.com  

  • Leading Edge Magazine http://www.leadingedgemagazine.com/  

  • Lightspeed Magazine http://www.lightspeedmagazine.com 

  • Lontar: www.lontarjournal.com 

  • On Spec http://www.onspec.ca/  

  • Quantum Muse http://www.quantummuse.com/   

  • Revolution Science Fiction http://revolutionsf.com/   

  • Shimmer http://www.shimmerzine.com/  

  • Space and Time http://spaceandtimemagazine.com/wp/  

  • Space Squid http://www.spacesquid.com/   

  • Strange Horizons http://www.strangehorizons.com/ 

  • Tales of the Unanticipated http://www.totu-ink.com 

  • TTA http://www.ttapress.com/ 

  • Uncanny Magazine (Coming soon in Fall, 2014)    

  • Vestal Review http://www.vestalreview.net/  

  • If you have additional journals to suggest, please share them in the comments below!